Contact a Humanities Office or Academic unit.
Find your course outlines.

In-Course (Returning Student) Awards

In-Course Awards recognize the achievements of current undergraduate students returning to studies for the following year. Some awards are determined on the basis of academic merit, while others also require students to submit supplementary documentation (e.g. resume, reference letter) in order to be considered.


Some awards are open to students across the university, while others are intended for students studying a specific discipline. One award may be looking at a student’s overall academic performance and extracurricular activities, while another may looking at the grades in only one specific course. In addition to basic eligibility criteria to hold awards, specific terms can vary greatly, so it is important to look at the specific conditions in the award descriptions.

Click here to view the full list of awards, academic regulations and conditions for eligibility to receive in-course awards.

If you have any questions about your eligibility, please contact Jennifer Richardson.

When to Apply

Information on awards for the 2018-19 year will be posted here when available. Applications are due normally by mid-April via Mosaic, and supplementary documentation by end of April to GH-120.

How to Apply

Students can now apply through your Mosaic Student Centre:

  • Click ‘Apply for Financial Aid’
  • Choose ‘Aid by Application’

If you have any trouble or questions, please contact Nancy Solano, Awards Officer, at

Awards Requiring an Application

Faculty-Wide Awards

The James R (Jamie) Greilich Memorial Scholarship
Established in 2015 by Mr. George and Mrs. Rita Greilich in memory of their son Jamie, B.A. (Class of ’88) who passed away at the age of 25 years old, to recognize the outstanding academic achievement of a student with a disability as they complete their program of study. To be awarded to a student in a Humanities program with the highest Grade Point Average and who is registered with Student Accessibility Services. Not open to students in their graduating year.Value: $5,000 (40197)Students who wish to be considered for this award must be enrolled with the Student Accessibility Services (SAS). Applications may be submitted at the end of Levels I, II, III (and IV if in a 5-year program) to the Office of the Registrar, Student Financial Aid & Scholarships by April 15th.
Value: $5000

The University Prizes for Special Achievement
Established in 1973. Two prizes to be awarded in each Faculty and other academic units to individual students or to students involved in group projects who exhibit exceptional skill and originality in a creative project (such as an essay, poem, sculpture, mathematical or scientific problem, engineering design) or a related series of such projects.
Value: $500

Program or Subject-Specific Awards


The Kit Memorial Scholarship
Established in 1936 by the Hamilton Branch of the Canadian Women’s Press Club (now the Media Club of Canada, Hamilton Branch) in memory of the brilliant journalist and writer, the first president of the Canadian Women’s Press Club, Kathleen Blake Coleman, widely known on this continent as Kit. To be awarded to a woman student either on completion of Level I and at least an additional 30 units on the basis of journalistic ability or on completion of Level I and an additional 60 – 75 units of an Honours program in English on the basis of Fall/Winter Average.For the purpose of Aid and Award criteria and eligibility, references to “Woman” or “Female” include students who identify as Woman/Female and references to “Man” or “Male” include all students who identify as a Man or Male
Value $200

The Rand Memorial Prize of Class ’98
Established by the Class of 1898 in Arts, on the occasion of the 25th anniversary of graduation, 1923, in memory of Chancellor Theodore Harding Rand, to encourage original literary work. To be awarded to the student who has completed Level I and an additional 60 – 75 units and who, in the judgment of the Department of English, has made the most notable original contribution to student publications.
Value: $250


The Elaine Nardocchio Memorial Scholarship
Established in 1998 by family, colleagues and many friends in memory of Dr. Elaine Nardocchio, a professor for over 23 years at McMaster University, Chair of the Department of French from 1990 to 1993 and President of the Canadian Federation for the Humanities from 1994 to 1996. To be awarded to an undergraduate student enrolled in a French program who, in the judgment of the Department of French, has shown a strong interest in computer skills as applied to the Humanities.
Value: $250


The James B. Lawson Scholarship
Established in 1999 by a grateful student and friend of Professor Lawson. To be awarded to a student who has completed either German 1Z06 A/B or German 1BB3 in Level 1 or to a student who has completed German 2ZZ3 in Level 2 and who, in the judgment of the Department of Linguistics and Languages, has demonstrated progress and interest in German. Eligibility for this award is restricted to non-native speakers of German. The award may be used for travel and study in a German-speaking country and/or for other expenses associated with the student’s German studies.
Value: $150


The Robert Nixon Scholarship
Established in 1991 by the Brant-Haldimand Liberal Association in honour of Dr. Robert Nixon (Class of ’50, LL.D, ’76). To be awarded to a student who, in the judgment of the Department of History, has demonstrated academic excellence and an active involvement in community life.
Value: $575


The ITCA Community Involvement Prize
Established in 1982 by Italian Canadian Community Involvement Incorporated. To be awarded to students who have completed at least 30 units beyond Level I and who, in the judgment of the Department of Linguistics and Languages, have attained notable standing in at least six units of Italian courses above Level I. The recipient must have graduated from a secondary school in the Hamilton area.
Value: $250


The Newcombe Prize in Peace Studies
Established in 1991 in memory of Dr. Alan G. Newcombe (1923-1991) and Dr. Hanna Newcombe (1922-2011), who devoted their lives to Peace Studies and were co-founders of the Canadian Peace Research and Education Association and the Peace Research Institute – Dundas. To be awarded to a student who, in the judgment of the Peace Studies program, demonstrates leadership in extracurricular endeavors and high academic achievement.
Value: $800


The Graham Ronald Toop Scholarship
Established in 1989 in memory of Graham Toop (Class of ’89) by family and friends. To be awarded to the student entering Level IV of an Honours Philosophy program and who, in the judgment of the Department of Philosophy, has demonstrated leadership and influence in scholarly activities related to the field of philosophy.
Value: $500


The Class of 38 Scholarship in Honour of Amelia Hall
Established in 1985 to mark the fiftieth anniversary of the graduation of the Class of ’38 and to commemorate the contribution of Amelia Hall, the distinguished actress, to theatre in Canada. To be awarded to one or two students in Theatre & Film Studies who, in the judgment of the School of the Arts, have attained notable academic achievement and demonstrated the ability to make a strong contribution to the study of dramatic performance.
Value: $1500

The Class of ’43 Golden Anniversary Scholarship
Established by the Class of ’43 in celebration of their 50th anniversary. To be awarded to the student who has completed Level I and at least an additional 60 units of an Honours program in Theatre & Film Studies who, in the judgment of the School of the Arts, has achieved notable academic standing and has made a significant contribution to theatre on campus.
Value: $1000